Skip to main content

Janáček Mládí for wind sextet
Jordan Moore New Work – Cybec Young Composer in Residence, MSO Commission and World Premiere
Beethoven Quintet for piano and winds

Andrew Macleod flute / piccolo
Thomas Hutchinson oboe
Philip Arkinstall clarinet
Jon Craven bass clarinet
Jack Schiller bassoon
Nicolas Fleury horn
Laurence Matheson piano

The concert
The young and the young at heart.

A concert that captures the curiosity of youth, with a sextet to echo its nostalgic charm and a world premiere by a young Australian composer.

Mládí, the title of Czech composer Leoš Janáček’s wind sextet translates to “Youth” – somewhat surprising considering Janáček was near 70 when it was written in 1924. The irrepressible composer had an extremely productive final decade. His opera for which is he most known, The Cunning Little Vixen was composed in the two years prior to Mládí, and a further opera, The Makropoulos Affair was composed the year after. Truly an original work of woodwind chamber music, Mládí is a melancholic consideration of the composer’s childhood – written with the wisdom and skill of an entire career’s compositional experience.

Before Beethoven composed the symphonies for which he is so adored today, a 27-year-old Ludwig tried his hand at a Quintet for the then, rather unusual combination of piano and winds. Only beginning to make his mark in Vienna as a composer, this Quintet was written in 1796 and was well received after its premiere, showing a slice of the genius Viennese society would come to know in the years ahead. Without the intense dramatic structure of his most famous works, the piece is delicate and nuanced.

This chamber recital also features a world premiere by the MSO’s 2020 Cybec Young Composer in Residence Jordan Moore, providing an opportunity to hear a brand new musical reflection of youth itself.

Running time
43 minutes.

Stay tuned. Sign up.