Skip to main content

About this performance

Barber Adagio for Strings
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

Benjamin Northey conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet piano
MSO Chorus

The concert
The master and the maestro.

One of the world’s leading interpreters of Beethoven, pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet brings his expertise to bear on the beautiful Piano Concerto No. 4.

Precision and sensitivity are vital for the delicate dance between piano and orchestra that is Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4. The piece became something of the bookend to the composer’s performing career. At the premiere, Beethoven was the soloist and years later, it would be his final solo performance with orchestra. Since then, many of the world’s greatest pianists have tackled it, including Beethoven specialist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, his talents described as “powerfully assured”, “phenomenal” and “blisteringly precise”.

Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances was his final composition, and in many ways a summing up of his influences. Living in Long Island in the summer of 1940, Rachmaninov returned to composing after a period of relative quiet, he composed nothing at all between 1937-39. His Symphonic Dances is typically lush and rhythmically dynamic, and though slow to gain recognition, is much-admired on the concert platform today.

Running time
1 hour and 36 minutes, including a 20-minute interval.

Repertoire update
Please note that Fauré’s Pavane has been replaced with Barber’s Adagio for Strings, and as such the MSO Chorus will no longer feature in this performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.