Skip to main content

Subscribe and save

These performances are available as part of a Thursday or Friday Evenings subscription. Subscribe and save 15% off single ticket prices!

Subscribe now


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor


Maria Grenfell Fanfare for a City
Bartók Concerto for Orchestra
Beethoven Symphony No.7

About this performance

Witness the MSO in its element as it takes on the rich, full-bodied repertoire it specialises in.

  • Tasmanian composer Maria Grenfell wrote Fanfare for a City for Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, celebrating the centenary of Federation in Australia. The fanfare begins with a harmonically ambiguous chorale and moves into thundering passages imbued with a sense of optimism.
  • Bartók received the commission to write Concerto for Orchestra while in hospital for cancer treatment. Despite his physically frail condition, the composer was able to produce an exciting and powerful work which artfully united his passion for European folk melodies with classical forms.
  • Beethoven’s Symphony No.7 premiered in 1813, at a benefit concert for soldiers who had been wounded fighting Napoleon’s forces in the battle of Hanau. It was an instant hit, with audiences enthralled by the boisterous and elegant melodies. The second movement has taken on life of its own, even being featured in the climax of Oscar-winning film The King’s Speech.

Duration: approx. 110 minutes including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.