Skip to main content








$5 transaction fee / order


Friday 18 November 2022

7:30pm at Robert Blackwood Hall


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
James Ehnes director & violin


Ligeti Six Miniatures
Bartók Divertimento for Strings
Beethoven Violin Concerto

About this performance

The Orchestra takes the lead in a program of bold Hungarian repertoire, followed by Beethoven’s Violin Concerto directed and performed by James Ehnes.

  • György Ligeti arranged Six Bagatelles for wind quintet from a cycle of piano pieces he had written years previously, Musica ricercata. Ten members of the MSO woodwind section will perform these vivacious and intricate vignettes to open the program.
  • Then, the strings of the MSO take to the stage for Bartók’s Divertimento. Heavily influenced by the rhythms and tonalities of Eastern European folk music, Bartók composed the work in a Swiss Alps chalet owned by the commissioner of the work.
  • Beethoven’s Violin Concerto was composed for prodigy Franz Clement. The concerto did not immediately catch on with audiences; it wasn’t until forty years later, when thirteen-year-old Joseph Joachim performed the piece under the baton of Felix Mendelssohn, that it entered the standard repertoire.

Duration: approx. 105 minutes including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.