Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Monash Series subscription


Friday 18 March 2022

7:30pm at Robert Blackwood Hall, Monash

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Peter Luff conductor
Rachael Tobin cello


Bonis Legendary Women, three pieces for orchestra
Kodály Dances of Galánta
Anna Clyne DANCE: for Cello and Orchestra
Rimsky-Korsakov Capriccio Espagnol

About this performance

Australian horn player-turned-conductor Peter Luff partners up with the MSO to lead us through this eclectic dance party of a program.

  • French composer Mélanie ‘Mel' Bonis was highly regarded in her time, but, as with many women in classical music, her presence has been largely obscured over the course of history. Fitting, then, that she should uncover three Legendary Women in this haunting piece of swirling harmonies and quiet strength.
  • Kodály is perhaps best remembered for inventing the Kodály method – a system known by primary school students and Sound of Music lovers all over the world – where notes of the scale are associated with hand signals (do, re, me etc.). Kodály’s other major contribution to music was his celebration of Hungarian folk melodies on the orchestral stage, such as these beguiling and memorable dances from Galánta, a town on the train line from Budapest to Vienna.
  • British Anna Clyne is a young Grammy-nominated acoustic and electro-acoustic composer. Inspired by a poem by Rumi, Clyne’s impressive concerto is performed by MSO Associate Principal Cello Rachael Tobin. Dedicated to her father, DANCE spins us through many moods of dance: from contemplative minimalism with soaring melodies, to lashings of industrial rhythmic urgency.
  • With boisterous percussion and jovial brass, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol showcases the virtuosity of individual instruments in the orchestra through a vivid amalgamation of Spanish dances and Russian gypsy music.

Duration: approx. 100 minutes including interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.