Skip to main content


Individual tickets available from 28 October






Available now as part of a Monday Evenings subscription


Monday 05 September 2022

6:30pm at Hamer Hall

If purchasing a 2022 subscription series, you can add this concert to your subscription and save 10%.

Add tickets to a subscription


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Alpesh Chauhan conductor
Michael Pisani cor anglais


Anne Cawrse The Rest is Silence
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.6 Pathétique

About this performance

The MSO uncovers the spaces between sonority and silence in this program, directed by Alpesh Chauhan, Associate Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

  • Australian composer Anna Cawrse describes The Rest is Silence as ‘a prayer, a celebration, and a meditation on the quiet still spaces, the silence amidst the hustle, and the enduring power of music’. This concerto features MSO Principal Cor Anglais Michael Pisani in an exploration of this remarkable instrument, often used to express music’s most melancholic, bittersweet, and emotionally profound moments.
  • Tchaikovsky wrote that his Sixth Symphony was ‘the best thing I ever composed or shall compose’ – a big claim from the man who wrote Swan Lake and The Nutcracker. This remarkable symphony is infinitely relatable, exploring a struggle between the strength of life force, and emotional and physical demise. In a break from standard practice of the time, this incredible cornerstone of romantic repertoire ends in quiet, contemplative dissolution.

Duration: approx. 1 hour, no interval

COVIDSafe Information

The MSO and the venues in which we perform will operate under government health and safety guidelines in place at the time of the event. Information about protocols in place will be included in the pre-concert email sent to attendees a few days prior to the performance.

Stay tuned. Sign up.